The Five Tastes

The Five Tastes are not a Doo Wop group! They are taste sensations that can be categorized into five basic tastes of: sweet, sour, salty, bitter and pungent. The human tongue is covered with thousands of tiny bumps invisible to the naked eye. They are called papillae. Each of these papillae contain hundreds of taste buds. Between 2000 and 5000 taste buds live on the tongue, with others located on the roof, sides, back of the mouth and in the throat. Each taste bud contains 50 to 100 taste receptor cells. This is one busy organ. Taste sensitivity is a critical element in creating meal variety and taste satisfaction. The practice of blending different tastes is native to many cultural cooking

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • YouTube Social  Icon


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
RSS Feed

© 2019 by Verne Varona. All rights reserved.

All Photography, Unless Otherwise Stated Below, By Verne Varona © 2019

© Nancy Adler: Counseling Page, seated photo; Articles page, seated photo • © Renzo Frontoni: Home page below video left side

© Lisa Nalven: Home page above video; About page, left side 

Creative: Element Marketing & Design LLC